Christmas Comes Early at NAOHSM’s Annual Convention

June 7, 2011
NAOHSM, now OESP, held its 58th Annual Convention and Trade Show from May 22-26, in Hershey, PA.

NAOHSM (National Association of Oilheating Service Managers), now OESP (National Association of Oil & Energy Service Professionals), held its 58th Annual Convention and Trade Show from May 22-26, in Hershey, PA. This year’s theme was Christmas in May and the association celebrated the many charitable things its members do for their customers and neighborhoods throughout the year.

The week kicked off on Sunday with Honeywell’s Rebuilding Together program. Members of the association volunteered at Camp Sertoma, a non-profit, summer camp for people of all ages with developmental disabilities. They helped prepare the camp for summer.

On Monday, attendees had educational opportunities, as well as a chance to enjoy the great outdoors. Golfers raised nearly $7,000 for the Dave Nelsen Scholarship. Participants in the Care to Ride event supported NAOHSM’s charity, Oil Heat Cares ( They rode motorcycles, bicycles, walked and ran, raising nearly $60,000. In the evening, all attendees enjoyed a complimentary reception, co-hosted by the association and ITT and Bell & Gossett.

Tuesday began with NAOHSM’s Board of Directors and General Membership meeting. Directors and members agreed upon the association’s new name: the National Association of Oil and Energy Service Professionals (OESP). Attendees enjoyed complimentary education sessions (thanks to NAOHSM’s many education sponsors). Then at 11:00 am, the sold-out trade show opened its doors. The floor was packed throughout the day and the show drew an increase of 18%.

On Tuesday evening, the association recognized industry achievers at their annual awards banquet. Prior to the banquet, attendees enjoyed a Taco-sponsored, cocktail party. Winners this year included: Joe Boyle (Service Manager of the Year), Ralph Adams (Instructor of the Year), Bob Perotto (Lou Ehrich Award), Honeywell (Manufacturer of the Year), President George McQueeney (Hugh McKee Award), and Michael Szentesy (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Students were also recognized with six $5,000 scholarships. The recipients were Alrick Crowe (Honeywell/NAOHSM award), Joshua Holohan (R.E. Michel/NAOHSM award), Austin Gray (Weil-McLain/NAOHSM award), Wyatt Runciman (James McComas/NAOHSM award), Michael Kimmel (Delavan/NAOHSM award), and Joseph Ackerman (Taco/NAOHSM award).

The third-annual Technician of the Year competition resulted with Ed Postol (Woolley Fuel of Maplewood, NJ) taking home the bragging rights. His service manager, Paul Cuprewich, believed he had a winning technician and demonstrated that by submitting Ed’s resume for the third straight year. Carl Graf (Petro of Hicksville, NY) was the runner up.

The coveted opportunity to hold the Oil Heat Cares Cup in 2011 went to three parties: Don Farrell for his Care to Ride event idea, as well as to the Nassau-Suffolk Chapter and the Delaware Valley Chapter for their ongoing support of projects.

On Wednesday, attendees took advantage of additional classes in the morning and afternoon, as well as time at the trade show. In the evening, Grundfos co-sponsored the association’s annual Theme Night Party. Participants enjoyed a festive evening complete with Santa and Mrs. Claus, gifts, and a visit by the Marines who picked up the toys from NAOHSM’s 2011 Toys for Tots campaign.

Related Articles:

NAOHSM announces convention, show social events

NAOHSM Changes Name to OESP

NAOHSMÂ’s 2011 Convention focuses on education

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Contractor, create an account today!