The Nexstar Legacy Foundation announces scholarships

April 19, 2011
LITTLE CANADA, MINN. — The Nexstar Legacy Foundation has announced their 2011-2012 scholarship award winners.

LITTLE CANADA, MINN. — The Nexstar Legacy Foundation has announced their 2011-2012 scholarship award winners. Nine students have been awarded scholarships ranging from $1,000-$6,000 to pursue education in preparation for careers within the plumbing, HVAC and electrical industry.

“The mission of the Nexstar Legacy Foundation is to give back to an industry that has been so good to us,” said Foundation President Bill Raymond of Frank & Lindy Plumbing & Heating Service Company, Peekskill, N.Y.

Each year, $20,000 in scholarships is awarded to students based upon merit, chosen by a scholarship selection committee comprised of industry leaders both inside and outside of the Nexstar Network. Since its inception, the Nexstar Legacy Foundation has awarded $105,000 in scholarship grants.

The scholarship program is the major gifting program of the Nexstar Legacy Foundation, which annually gifts double the federal requirement. The largest annual award is the Frank Blau Jr. Award of $6,000, awarded to a student who is enrolled in a four-year program with the intent of working in the industry.

Foundation VP and Scholarship Chair Julie Wieman said, “This year, the Foundation initiated a commitment to awarding scholarships to students attending technical schools in addition to seeking donor-named scholarships.”
Wieman is president of MacGregor Plumbing & Heating in Harbor Springs, MI.

109 high school, college students and industry professionals applied for this year’s scholarships that were funded through the Legacy Foundation by individual and company donations.

Click here for more information on the Nexstar Legacy Foundation or to make a donation, or contact Renee Cardarelle at (651) 789-8518 or e-mail [email protected].

Scholarship award winners are:

Sarah Masters (Allendale, N.J.)
University of Delaware, Mechanical Engineering

Graham Thurber (Topeka, Kan.)
Washburn University, Business Administration

Derek Ascherin (Mitchell, S.D.)
Western Dakota Tech, Electrical Technician

George Pankowicz (Oxford, Pa.)
Thaddeus Stevens College of Tech, Plumbing Technician

Evan Dukart(Wibaux, N.D.)
North Dakota State College of Science

Cody Cannon (Morris, Minn.)
Minnesota West Technical College, Electrical Technician

Vincent Romano (South Amboy, N.J.)
Lincoln Technical Institute, HVAC Technician

Nicholas Krenz (St. Croix Falls, Wis.)
Dunwoody College of Technology, Electrical Technician

Toby Keller (Veedersburg, Ind.)
University of Northwestern Ohio, HVAC Technician

Related Articles:
Nexstar Super Meeting breaks business barriers

Related Articles:
Nexstar, ACE DuraFlo announce strategic partnership

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Contractor, create an account today!

Sponsored Recommendations