Latest from Management

DRYmedic Restoration Services of Treasure Coast, FL
spb2015 / iStock / GettyImages


MCAA Offers Model Crane Safety Program

Dec. 27, 2011

ROCKVILLE, MD—The Mechanical Contractors Association of America (MCAA) has released a Model Crane Safety Program to assist contractors in complying with the requirements set forth in OSHA’s Cranes and Derricks in Construction Standard (29 CFR 1926 Subpart CC).

The standard was published in the Federal Register as a final rule on August 9, 2010. “The Model Crane Safety Program was designed specifically for mechanical construction contractors,” notes Tom Skaggs, chairman of MCAA’s Safety and Health Committee and vice president – safety for the Murphy Company. “It simplifies the process of complying with the OSHA standard, which is a real plus for busy contractors.”

“MCAA members won’t always be required to have a written crane safety program,” says Pete Chaney, Director of Safety and Health for MCAA. “Some owners, GCs and CMs are requiring written programs from all affected subcontractors, however, so MCAA felt it was important to provide a tool that will assist our members in preparing one.”  The Model Crane Safety Program is available for immediate download from MCAA’s Bookstore at, where contractors can also find a wide variety of safety publications designed specifically for the mechanical construction, service and plumbing industries. There is no charge for MCAA members to download the publication. The cost for non-members is $54. 

For additional information about MCAA’s Safety Excellence Initiative or the ways in which OSHA’s Cranes and Derricks in Construction Standard will impact your business, please contact Pete Chaney at 800/556-3653 or [email protected].

The Mechanical Contractors Association of America, Inc. (MCAA) serves the unique needs of approximately 2,500 firms involved in heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, plumbing, piping, and mechanical service by providing their members with high-quality educational materials and programs to help them attain the highest level of managerial and technical expertise.

MCAA includes the Mechanical Service Contractors of America, the Plumbing Contractors of America, the Manufacturer/Supplier Council, the Mechanical Contracting Education and Research Foundation and the National Certified Pipe Welding Bureau. 

Related Articles

MCAA Releases Updated Change Order Publication

MCAA Participates in DOL Apprenticeship Recognition Program

MCAA Announces 2011 Student Chapter Summit

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Contractor, create an account today!

Sponsored Recommendations